January 28, 2009

Woo Hoo! GOP Shut out!

Bad news: Stimulus bill passes House

Good news: No GOP members vote for it! A new bipartisan era has not come to Washington!

WASHINGTON - In a swift victory for President Barack Obama, the Democratic-controlled House approved a historically huge $819 billion stimulus bill Wednesday night with spending increases and tax cuts at the heart of the young administration's plan to revive a badly ailing economy.

The vote was 244-188, with Republicans unanimous in opposition despite Obama's pleas for bipartisan support. Eleven Democrats voted against the measure, while no Republicans supported it.

"We don't have a moment to spare," Obama declared at the White House as congressional allies hastened to do his bidding in the face of the worst economic crisis since the Great Depression.

MSNBC doesn't push the shut-out angle, but Mister Brutally Honest does. Awesome on stilts!

Hat-tip: Instapundit

UPDATE: Quote of the Day nomination:

Barack Obama promised to end the "politics of division," unite Washington's factions and overcome partisanship. And what do you know -- so far he has: The President's stimulus plan generated bipartisan House opposition, with every Republican and 11 Democrats voting against it on Wednesday. It passed 244-188. -- WSJ Ed Page

Politics Posted by John Kranz at January 28, 2009 7:41 PM

Hey, has anyone found a list of the 11 (or 12 according to some reports) democrats who voted against it? I'm just curious.

Posted by: dagny at January 29, 2009 10:27 AM

That MSNBC site is very useful. Between the "Historic Obama Presidency Multimedia Show" and clips from Rachel Maddow questioning a recalcitrant GOP House member, they do provide the roll call:

All Republicans voted against President Barack Obama's spending plan. Of the Democrats, 11 voted against the measure. Among them: Allen Boyd, D-Fla., Bobby Bright, D-Ala., Jim Cooper, D-Tenn., Brad Ellsworth, D-Ind., Parker Griffith, D-Ala., Paul Kanjorski, D-Penn., Frank M. Kratovil, D-Md., Walt Minnick, D-Idaho, John E. Peterson, D-Penn., Heath Shuler, D-N.C., and Gene Taylor, D-Miss.

NED bless the blue dogs!

Posted by: jk at January 29, 2009 11:15 AM | What do you think? [2]